Club Hill Climb Results - 5 October 2013

Congratulations to Andy Ten-Broeke!

It's now the third consecutive year that he has won the competition, knocking 24 seconds of his PB with a time of 6:23. Andy has still something to aim for though as the Club record is currently held by Dr Will Mangar - 6:08 in 2008.
Steve Walker was only just over 4 seconds behind in his first competitive hill climb so has to be first Novice. A "genuine" novice I might add, unlike certain other members who have been known to claim Novice status under false pretences. 
"Ancient tester" Martin Brown was the first vet home and he and Sam Bennett would have found it the perfect warm up for the Catford Hill Climb next Sunday on Yorks Hill. If you haven't anything else planned why not go along to watch, it's a cracking event in a great atmosphere. Olly Hatfield was also down to ride but is now injured although there may be others from the club I'm not aware of.
Cath Linney secured the womens top spot with a great performance and in the process smashed the Club record of 7:29 previously set by Claire Hitchings in 2009.
Top Improver spot has to go to Nick Anderton who knocked 49 seconds off his PB set in 2012 although Cath wasn't far behind with a 44 second improvement.
It was a little disappointing to only see four women starting and more than a little disturbing to discover one of our male members has taken to wearing womens clothing. That's right, Dave Lobley sneaked off wearing Val Place's top at the end. So ladies, best not leave your garments, fashion accessories and other trinkets lying about if Dave is in the area. I have also discovered that there will be a new section in the Weekly email edited by Dave that will give all our lady members current seasonal fashion tips, we will have our very own Gok Wan! 
Thanks everyone for supporting the event both first timers and regulars. Thanks also to Stephen and Tony for their help. In view of the minor problem we had at the start with the juggernaut unable to get past our parked cars it may be a better idea to park up the hill at the Car Park next year. 

  Andy Ten-Broeke

  Steve Walker

  Martin Brown

  Sam Bennett

  Peter Conway

  Cath Linney (w)

  Simon Truett

  Richard Bryant

  Will Wright

  Dave Lobley

  Charlie Ingram

  Nick Anderton

  Penny Bulley (w)

  Alan Lewis

  Dan Longhurst

  Andy Evans

  Jim Pursell

  Duncan Cochrane

  Val Place (w)

  Sarah Jones (w)